

August 4, 2021

Cincinnati City Council Council Chambers, City Hall 801 Plum Street Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Dear Members of Council:

We are transmitting herewith an Emergency Ordinance captioned as follows:

AMENDING the official zoning map of the City of Cincinnati to rezone certain real property located at 3201, 3215, 3223, and 3229 Woodburn Avenue in the Evanston neighborhood from the CN-P, "Commercial Neighborhood-Pedestrian," zoning district to the RM-0.7, "Residential Multi-Family," zoning district in furtherance of the *Evanston Fire-Point Urban Renewal Plan* (2003).

Summary:

A zoning study on Woodburn Avenue was requested by the Evanston Community Council on January 17, 2020 to Councilmember Mann. The Evanston Community Council requested the study of the rezoning for the subject area to be changed to residential to conform with the specific recommendation in the *Evanston Five-Point Urban Renewal Plan* (2003). Councilmember Mann requested that the City Manager direct the Department of City Planning to proceed with the requested zoning study on January 28, 2020.

The subject area for the zoning study is located on the west side of Woodburn Avenue approximately 200' south of the intersection of Woodburn Avenue, Gilbert Avenue, and Montgomery Road, commonly known as the Five-Points Intersection. The site is 1.87 acres in size and contains four parcels. The subject area is the site of the recently demolished Calvary United Methodist Church (3201 and 3215 Woodburn), and two residential structures (3223 and 3229 Woodburn Avenue). The site is currently zoned Commercial Neighborhood-Pedestrian (CN-P), which is the zoning district for the properties immediately adjacent to the north and east of the subject area.

The City Planning Commission recommended the following on July 16, 2021 to City Council:

APPROVE the zone change from Commercial Neighborhood – Pedestrian (CN-P) to Residential Multi-family (RM-0.7) at 3201, 3215, 3223, and 3229 Woodburn Avenue in Evanston.

Motion to Approve: Mr. Samad

Seconded: Ms. McKinney Ayes: Ms. McKinney

Mr. Juech Mr. Samad Ms. Stallworth

Abstained: Mr. Eby

THE CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

Katherine Keough-Jurs, AICP, Director Department of City Planning